Ministry of Education and Child Care Logo Ministry of Education and Child Care Logo

New Playground for Riverview Elementary

June 6, 2024




New, accessible school playgrounds open for students 


Extra provincial playground funding for the seventh year means more fun for students and families in modern and safe playgrounds.

“Playgrounds enhance our kids’ well-being,” said Rachna Singh, Minister of Education and Child Care. “These are spaces where children can truly be themselves, where they express their joy, and learn valuable social skills. Our government is thrilled to ensure communities throughout the province gain better access to modern playgrounds for everyone’s benefit.”

In 2024, the Province is providing funding for 26 more playgrounds in 26 school districts, each receiving $195,000. This investment in playgrounds promotes physical activity for kids, teaches social skills, such as sharing, and helps them develop life skills, such as conflict resolution. The playgrounds are also designed to be accessible for children of all abilities.

Last year’s provincial investment of $5 million supported 25 new school playgrounds – 20 are complete, while the remaining are close to ready. Building new accessible playgrounds is part of the government’s priority to ensure students have positive learning and play spaces, no matter where they live.

Since 2018, the government has supported students and families, allocating $40 million toward new playgrounds at 282 schools, benefiting more than 70,000 students. Every school district has received at least one playground since the program started in 2018. Some schools received funding for multiple playgrounds for the communities to enjoy.     

Budget 2024 includes $3.75 billion for school capital projects over the next three years, including new and expanded schools, seismic upgrades and replacements, and land purchases for future schools.

Learn More:

To learn more about Playground Equipment Program, visit:


List of schools that received funding for 2024-25 playgrounds
  • Lac La Hache Elementary, Cariboo-Chilcotin School District 27 (SD 27)
  • Riverview Elementary, Quesnel (SD 28)
  • John Maclure Community, Abbotsford (SD 34)
  • Cindrich Elementary, Surrey (SD 36)
  • Heath Traditional Elementary, Delta (SD 37)
  • James Thompson Elementary, Richmond (SD 38)
  • Pierre Elliott Trudeau Elementary, Vancouver (SD 39)
  • Lord Kelvin Elementary, New Westminster (SD 40)
  • Edith McDermott Elementary, Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows (SD 42)
  • Hollyburn Elementary, West Vancouver (SD 45)
  • Davis Bay Elementary, Sunshine Coast (SD 46)
  • Pineridge Elementary, Prince Rupert (SD 52)
  • Oliver Elementary, Okanagan-Similkameen (SD 53)
  • Telkwa Elementary, Bulkley Valley (SD 54)
  • Diamond Vale Elementary, Nicola-Similkameen (SD 58)
  • John Muir Elementary, Sooke (SD 62)
  • Deep Cove Elementary, Saanich (SD 63)
  • Mountain View Elementary, Nanaimo-Ladysmith (SD 68)
  • Valley View Elementary, Comox Valley (SD 71)
  • Cortes Island School, Campbell River (SD 72)
  • David Stoddart School, Gold Trail (SD 74)
  • Boston Bar Elementary/Secondary, Fraser-Cascade (SD 78)
  • Suwilaawks Community School, Coast Mountains (SD 82)
  • Cheslakees Elementary, Vancouver Island (SD 85)
  • Mouse Mountain Elementary, Nechako Lakes (SD 91)
  • Ecole Du Bois-Joli, Conseil Scolaire Francophone (SD 93)